top of page
  • Caoimhe O'Connor

Published in The Trinity Women's Review

My historical article, 'To what extent was the political arena gendered masculine in Early Modern Europe?', was published in the fourth volume of the Trinity Women's Review!


The Trinity Women’s Review is an interdisciplinary journal that aims to shed light on subject matters relating to women or gender issues. As a history student, this is something I am hugely passionate about, as I often find that the female experience is under researched.


My article explores the political arena in Early Modern Europe in order to determine the extent to which it was gendered masculine. I love researching this period, so I was thrilled that it got chosen!


You can read my article by clicking this link: https://ojs.tchpc.tcd.ie/index.php/TrinityWomensReview/article/view/2075


Abstract:

This essay explores the political sphere in early modern Europe in order to determine the extent to which it was gendered masculine. Although the early modern period signified a new era of female kings, the political sphere still contained huge power asymmetries between the genders. By shedding light on the intricacies of early modern politics, this essay argues that the political arena in which female rulers functioned was simply not made for them. The political thought that circulated during this period and the legal barriers that women faced explain this to some extent. However, the key aspects of early modern female rule such as “gender style” and internalised misogyny are also considered. Stories of women in legitimate positions of power are used to illustrate these elements. These include Mary I, Elizabeth I, Catherine de Medici, Christina of Sweden, Maria Theresa and Mary of Hungary.



bottom of page